Home » Featured, NHS General News

New Medal to Honour Outstanding Paramedics

No Comment

The Department of Health has announced a new annual award for ‘distinguished exemplary service’ within the Ambulance Service.  The proposal for the Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal (QAM) has been approved by Her Majesty and will be announced twice yearly in both the Queen’s New Year and Birthday Honours Lists starting in 2012.

Services will be able to nominate individuals for the award.  The idea is for the medal to recognise those with an exceptional devotion to their duty, and those who show outstanding ability and merit in their work.

Those eligible for nominations include Paramedics, Emergency Care Practitioners, Technicians, Ambulance Care Assistants, Patient Transport Services, Call Handlers and all those who work in the control and dispatch side of the service.  Both full-time and part-time staff are eligible, although it would only be in exceptional circumstances that those with less than 10 years in the service would be considered for nomination. There will be a maximum of four medals per year in England, two in Wales, two in Scotland, one in Northern Ireland and one in the Channel Islands.

Various ambulance trusts throughout the UK have expressed their pleasure in the announcement of this new award.

West Midlands Ambulance Service Chief Executive, Anthony Marsh, said “Our staff work incredibly hard to save lives, often under extreme pressure and in very challenging situations. This medal will mean that their actions can be recognised at the highest levels.”

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn